The Five Precepts


Ethical guidelines that determine the behavior of Buddhists

1) Refraining from killing or harming living creatures

2) Refrain from taking what is not freely given

3) Refraining from sexual misconduct

4) Refraining from false or unjust speech

5) Refraining from intoxicating drink

Buddhists monks and nuns observe an additional five precepts

the four noble truths

the eightfold path

the five aggregates

the six dharmas

the five precepts